Do Something

Do Something

I found an old notebook that had a small reflection I wrote after my first time going out on the streets to share food with people experiencing homelessness. This was about eighteen years ago when I was a student in college. As I read this I recognized a sentiment that I often hear from students who come to serve along side us at The Well. I wanted to share the reflection here in hopes that it is encouraging to note that experiences and feelings that we have can impact the trajectory of our entire lives.

(Please forgive the terrible grammar and spelling! Hooked on phonics never worked for me)


What really stood out to me when I found and read this today was the line "....I mean really do something. Giving someone a meal is nice but I wanna do so much more, My heart broke last night." This was the beginning of what I have come to call 'the haunting.'  I still, almost 20 years later feel the exact same way in the deepest parts of me.

I still want to really DO something. Since that time we have build The Well to set tables that are attempting to do two things; 1. to meet needs and 2. to recreate this experience for others in hopes that they to would take responsibility and try to leverage their lives and resources to "really do something."

Until next time, be pedestrian.